Crappiest day in inuvik

So for those of you who aren’t on the facebook(I love saying it like an old person lol “the Facebook”) : A) what are you doing with yourselves? And B) here’s what happened to me yesterday …

I got a call for an intoxicated fall so I got up from my lovely meal with a friend, quickly paid my bill and left to do the call. After being cussed out and irritated to my wits end by patient and family I got home (only having been gone about an hour and 15 minutes) to find my laptop + charger, iPhone 5 charger, DVD player and digital camera gone. Great. Just what I needed.

Someone had kicked in the back door of my house far enough to be able to reach their hand in and slip the chain across the lock thing.

So I swiftly called the RCMP and my boss and they were both at my house in minutes. After telling them what happened and what was missing they both said “we’re pretty sure we know who did this have are 99% sure we know where your stuff will end up” to which I said “awesome sauce, can I rough up the guy” they wished they could let me do it.

So the boss-man and the RCMP officer left to go where they’d figure my things would be and sure enough about 20 minutes later my phone goes off and it’s the boss-man saying “is your laptop missing a key?” I said “yup!” He said “we’ve got the guy and he’s been arrested” HUZZAH! Justice bitches.

FUN FACT: the low life individual who thought it would be a good idea to steal from one of the TWO life savers in the village was one of the geniuses who renovated my house over the past month. So he knew the ins and outs of my doors and when I would be gone. Awesome.

Everyone in this town knows these red houses are where the paramedics live. We aren’t the bad guys, we don’t arrest people, we help. And while I was out helping someone (on my 21 days shift which I’m already pretty tired of I might add) someone has the audacity to break into my place and take my things.

It sickens me to think of the lack of respect people in this town have for other people and their things. I could go on for pages about this topic but I’ll just leave it at that.

This story does have a moderately happy ending. The RCMP officer who attended my call came by shortly after and said he had my things and just needed to take pictures of them for evidence and I’d get them back shortly. The boss-man also called and said new deadbolts would be installed on my doors (and that happened within minutes as well). The jerk who stole from me has been arrested and is in jail. But sadly he won’t be there for long. But oh well, he had some time to sit in cells and think about what he did (and surely he feels zero guilt).

So last night was a rough night. I have 3 locks on my front door and 2 on the back and I still didn’t fall asleep until 07:30. And only would sleep for about 20 minutes at a time before I was jolted awake by any little sound. It sucked. Not only did this quality creature take my laptop and camera blah blah blah but he took my sense of security. Thanks jerk, I had been sleeping like a baby til last night!! Ya dumb ass hat.

Anyhoo, this is just something I’ll add to the growing list of “things that happened that year I lived in the North Pole”.

Life’s one effed up adventure and I’m just along for the ride. Hang on tight bitches cuz it just got bumpy.

Hugs & Kisses from afar
Xoxo
Laura

Leave a Reply

