The Frozen Pipes Debacle of 2014

Staying in a hotel: someone makes your bed, takes out your garbage, cleans your bathroom… amazing. Living in a hotel (in your own town)… gets old fast. The first few days were fun, like a little vacation, now I just want to be back in my own house and most of all, my own bed. So why am I living in a hotel you ask? WELL the water pipes at my house have been frozen for over a week now which means no showers, no flushing toilets, no laundry, no dishes, no washing your hands! I didn’t realize how much I LOVED having running water til it was ripped away from me by vicious old man winter haha, arctic problems. So my super awesome boss put me up in the Nova Inn here in town while the pipes are being thawed out, with over 400′ of pipes frozen, it’s taking a while, also… labour-wise nothing gets done quickly in Inuvik. So I’m patiently waiting in my hotel room (complete with fireplace and satellite TV, yay!) for my house to return to a liveable state. I took a few pictures of my hotel room to show you all what a hotel looks like in the arctic!! … it looks just like a hotel down south.Bam.IMG_0948 IMG_0949 IMG_0950 IMG_0951  not so thrilled to still be in a hotelIMG_0952 IMG_0953

 

Back to sitting by the fire I go!!

Hugs & Kisses from afar

xoxo

Laura

Leave a Reply

